top of page


The Alberta Farm Writers' Association is part of a larger group, the Canadian Farm Writers Federation (CFWF). CFWF serves the common interests of agricultural journalists, including reporters, editors and broadcasters as well as those in business and government whose primary responsibility is agricultural communications.

The CFWF represents more than 350 members who belong to regional and provincial organizations.


On June 20, 1955, five well-connected farm writers came together at the Agricultural Institute of Canada annual meeting in Edmonton. Several meetings followed and Tom Leach of CBC, Dick Beamish of The Western Producer, Jack Cram, western editor of the Family Herald, Frank Jacobs of Canadian Cattlemen and Don Baron of Country Guide became the founding fathers of the Canadian Farm Writers' Association.


The establishment of regional associations and name change to CFWF followed soon after. The original vision of the organization was to have western and eastern associations under the umbrella of the national organization. However, the desire of British Columbia to have its own organization resulted in the four western provinces forming their own groups, with the east maintaining one association. Quebec farm writers have always had their own organization separate from CFWF.


The basic structure of the organization remains in place today, with six regional associations under the national umbrella.

Wheat Crop


Michelle Chunyua, President

Ian Doig, Vice-President

Tracey Feist, Secretary/Treasurer

Craig Lester

Mary MacArthur

Tim Parent

Trish Romanchuk

Lorne McClinton Photography


There are 12 individuals who have been presented with an AFWA Honorary Life Membership. Each has contributed greatly to Alberta agriculture throughout their careers. 

bottom of page